Announcement of New SSAC Members

4 November 2019



Scottish Science Advisory Council appoints a new chair and members


Six leading scientists are set to join the Scottish Science Advisory Council (SSAC), the expert panel that supports the Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland in her work with Scottish Ministers.

Joining the SSAC from 1 December 2019 are:

Professor Margaret Gill OBE, Emeritus Professor School of Biology, University of Aberdeen (Chair of SSAC)

Professor Robert Bowman, Head of the School of Maths and Physics, Queen’s University, Belfast

Professor Bob Ferrier, Director, Centre of Expertise for Waters, James Hutton Institute

Professor Julian Jones OBE, Vice Principal, Heriot-Watt University

Professor Marian Scott OBE, Professor of Environmental Statistics, University of Glasgow

Professor Aziz Sheikh OBE, Director of the Usher Institute, University of Edinburgh

The new members will serve for three years, until 30 November 2022.

Commenting on the new appointments, Professor Sheila Rowan, Chief Scientific Adviser said:

“The new members have a wealth of science expertise, and this, together with their experience of working with industry and organisations across the UK, will help ensure that the Scottish Government has access to the best scientific advice across a diverse range of policy areas.”

The new Chair of the SSAC, Professor Margaret Gill said:

“I’m delighted to be appointed the Chair of the SSAC and look forward to working with our current and new members to continue to offer a broad range of science advice to support Ministers.”

Science Minister Richard Lochhead welcomed the appointments:

“Scotland is a science nation that enjoys a global reputation. In joining the SSAC the new members are continuing our great history of science. I look forward to meeting the new and existing members to discuss how the SSAC can add value to our work.”


The SSAC provides independent advice, through its Chair, to the Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) for Scotland, to inform policy development and delivery across all areas of the Scottish Government’s work.

The SSAC supports the work of the CSA Scotland, Professor Sheila Rowan, the Chief Scientist (Health), Professor David Crossman, and the Chief Scientific Adviser for Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture, Professor Andrew Millar, all of whom are also ex-officio members of the SSAC. 

Details of other members of the SSAC can be found on the SSAC website:

The next meeting of the SSAC will be on 11 December, 2019. 



Media enquiries: Elaine Docherty - 0131 244 3031 /